Opposition endorses Basalirwa for Speakership race

Man Jose Kayima

Opposition Members of Parliament have voted Jeema President and Bugiri Municipality MP Asuman Basalirwa as their candidate for the position of Speaker.

Basalirwa garnered 49 votes during the election held by opposition legislators on Thursday. He beat Erute South County MP Odur Jonathan who had 20 votes.

Opposition legislators Shamim Malende, Ssemujju Ibrahim Nganda and detained Allan Ssewanyana had earlier expressed interest in the vacant position.

The opposition has also nominated Kioga County MP Moses Okot for the position of Deputy Speaker.

Meanwhile, NRM Parliamentary Caucus at Kololo Independence Ground has Endorsed Anita Annet Among to contest for Speakership as party Flag bearer.

Government Chief Whip Thomas Tayebwa has been endorsed by NRM Parliamentary Caucus at Kololo to contest for Deputy Speakership as party Flag bearer

For starters, the ruling party has 336 MPs in the 11th Parliament while the opposition has 109 legislators.

As by article 82(4) of the constitution provides that no business shall be conducted in the Parliament other than an election of the speaker at anytime that office is vacant.

Jacob Oulanyah’s replacement will officially be elected tomorrow at the Kololo ceremonial grounds.

Related Posts

1 of 77

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *