NRM MPS receive Shs5M for voting speaker

Man Jose Kayima

National Resistance Movement (NRM) members of Parliament have each scooped Shs5M for voting Annet Anita Among and Thomas Tayebwa as Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively.

The Party rewarded each member who voted received a whooping Shs5M for voting the duo.

Each Member received the money basing from the region he or she comes from.

Speaker Anita Among and her Deputy Thomas Tayebwa

Kalungu County West MP Joseph Ssewungu Gonzaga (NUP) says the government should have considered constructing schools in the country instead of splashing the money on its MPs

“The country has poor schools and the government is spending a lot of money in paying NRM Members of Parliament for voting Among and Tayebwa.” This is very bad to our nation and I was surprised with what I saw at the Parliament.”

“We are facing a lot of problems in the country which I believe should be considered first.”

Ssewungu told CBS FM

Last week, Hon.Among was overwhelmingly voted the speaker of the 11th Parliament to replace the deceased Jacob Oulanyah.

Among beat Jeema’s Asuman Basalirwa after garnering 401 votes against 66.

Ruhindi North MP was elected Deputy Speaker with 379 votes beating Opposition’s Moses Okot P’Bitek who got 82 votes.

Related Posts

1 of 76

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *